Utah – Scenic Highlights in the Land of Mormons

“The Mighty 5” – Five stunning national parks

Not a single US state has so many breathtaking national parks as close together as it does in southern Utah. The Mighty 5 – also known as Arches, Canyonlands, Capitol Reef, Bryce Canyon and Zion National Parks – is one of South West USA’s top nature sensations. There are also 43 state parks, seven national monuments and two national recreational areas.

For years, Utah’s license plate featured the skier and the kit, “Greatest Snow on Earth.” In fact, the snow-capped peaks of the Wasatch Mountains in northern Utah are a skier’s paradise. In 2002, some competitions of the Salt Lake City Olympic Games took place here. But that’s not all, as outdoor enthusiasts in the state are totally on their toes: fishing, canyoning, climbing, cycling, swimming in the largest salt lake in the US – everything is here in the “land of Ute” – like the original inhabitants who still live here are called – possible.

Utah is known as the Mormon homeland well beyond its borders. About 60 percent of the population follows this belief – and according to US statistics, at least 42 percent practice it. Dominant are the big white temples in every major city. By the way, if you’re doing ancestral research, then you’re in the right place, because the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, the capital city, has the largest collection of family pedigrees.

Utah is a versatile gem – just waiting to be explored.

Utah information

Location and size:
Utah is located in the southwestern part of the United States and is the 13th largest state in the US with 219,890 km2. In the north, the states of Wyoming and Idaho border on Utah, in the west Nevada. In the east, the state shares a border with Colorado, in the south with Arizona. In the far southeast of Utah is the border with Colorado, New Mexico and Arizona – and thus the only quadrilateral area – “Four Corners” – the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *